Josh Brage


Identity Revisited
January 30, 2007, 8:56 pm
Filed under: Walk with God


Something that I struggle with continually right now is my identity. I struggle with confidence in knowing who I am, who I want to be and what I want to do. It seems that I try to listen to the music that I hear certain people say that they like. I watch the same TV shows that everyone else does. Sometimes I feel completely unoriginal and definitely not unique. I don’t mind feeling un-unique, but I do mind feeling like I am not myself. Recently I was talking with a mentor of mine about this and he said some great things, so I thought I would share them. I was telling him how I feel that I just follow and copy those influential people in my life – I do what they do. Here is his response:

Emulation is the attempt to equal or surpass somebody or something, usually by means of imitation.

My observation is that all young people do that. I did it and if we are not careful we will continue to do it. Some of my first messages as a young man were very much like the men I was hanging around. I do think that it is inherently bad or wrong. It means that you are searching for yourself, identity and that you have people that seek to model your life after. I changed churches as a young 20 something because I got spirit filled and I knew that I wanted to be more like the Pentecostal preacher than I did the Baptist minister.

I think one of the ways to get ahead of the curve is to have a life coach, spiritual mentor that can help you locate …YOU. That is not easy and it takes years. To know what you want, like, desire. To know what is uniquely you, and then you discover over time that other people have the same passion, outlook, dream, goals, etc…

I would think it would be more important to emulate character qualities, values of others more than their choices, or preferences in life. Be you, but you may not know all that it means, follow your heart. I found out just [recently] that my “happy thought” is to be a father (spiritually to and for others). Since that realization I have narrowed my field of study and have concentrated on being a PhD father. I now know, up until then everything was an experiment. I like it and I have discovered I am not the only one, but I am the only one like me and the path that got me here was unique and I now focus on my strengths.

Get some people who won’t give you the answers that you want or need to hear, who can see you in the light of the raw gifts that you have and let them help draft some of the lines of your path and then you take your years and begin to color in those lines with any colors that you want to.

Think more about who you want to be and less about what you want to do or where you want to go and then decide what to do and where to go.

But to follow the steps of another is not wrong or bad, it can be quite helpful and early stages of development and many points throughout life…school, work, marriage, children, etc…

PS. Thanks again P. Mike!
Also posted at Getvertigo

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

That was some awesome advice. I’m discovering more pieces of me throughout the years and you know what? I’m finding out that I’m pretty cool afterall–in my own way.

Great post!

Comment by SolShine7




Leave a Reply

