Josh Brage


No It Really Doesn’t
May 31, 2007, 1:26 pm
Filed under: Morning, Walk with God
“Now no chastening seems to be joyful for the present, but painful;
nevertheless, afterward it yields the peaceable fruit of righteousness
to those who have been trained by it.”
Hebrews 12:11

Sometimes you end up in a period of time where you get corrected a lot. You feel like every decision you make is incorrect and you are getting corrected by everyone for everything. This isn’t usually the case, usually I am just being too sensitive. However, I also notice that these times are times when God is working on my heart. God will allow you to be put under pressure and kind of leave you there for a little while. It is humbling. I am in a humbling place right now. That is alright, it just smarts. I don’t really want it to let up, because ‘Baby, it hurts so good.’ But … it still sucks. This isn’t a pity thing, I don’t really feel sorry for myself. I just want God to bring me through this and take that stuff out of my life that isn’t supposed to be there.

“Die to yourself daily.”
“If any man would come after Me, let him deny himself…”
“Practice daily purposeful inconvenience.”

These sound good when preached. However, they are not fun when lived out. God please change my heart through this. I want to be more like You. I get so frustrated when I get so mad at someone. Why do I get mad? I am so full of pride. Take that from me!

Also, a significant indicator of someones spiritual maturity is how they handle correction. I used to think this meant correction from their spiritual leaders. It does. But it also means correction from anyone at anytime for anything. How do you take it? Do you take it in, see where you need to make changes and change? Or do you blow it off, excuse it away or get offended by it? I sure hope that I do the former.

Also, I have come to a realization that people don’t think I am very deep. That is fine. Who really cares?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I think you’re deep…

just not too tall.

Comment by Reverend GLO




Leave a Reply

