Josh Brage


Laughter – We Must Not Seek to Escape Our Humanity
December 19, 2007, 7:32 am
Filed under: Blogroll, Walk with God

Humanity, we have a problem.If we don’t know anything else, we know this.

To be human is to take the stage in a tragic comedy. One moment it’s laughter, the next it’s lamentation. In one scene we dance with one hand waving free, in the next we trudge along to the doleful sound of a dirge. And so it is.

Religion exists to address the problem of the human condition and more often than not the solution religion comes up with is escape.

Maybe it’s escape through meditation or enlightenment as in Buddhism and Hinduism.
Maybe it’s escape through separation and withdrawal from society as in monasticism and fundamentalism.
Maybe it’s escape through death or an eschatological event as in dualism and dispensationalism.

And as is so often the case, religion (as a human invention) gets it wrong and only mires us deeper in the problem. To deal with the problem of the human condition by escape does what? Forces us to flee from what we are. And if we flee from being human we become, what? Certainly not what we are meant to be.

God’s solution is just the opposite of escape. God’s solution was to join the human race.

Merry Christmas!

Jesus’ ultimate mission was to make human life livable.

(read the rest of this post here)

This is something that I do not completely understand. It seems to be that the longer I follow God, the more aggressive I am about trying to pull away from my SELF, my humanity. This is something that we MUST do. We, as Christians, MUST deny ourselves (“of everything, deny ourselves of anything”) and allow Christ to become increasingly prevalent in our internal worlds. However, we cannot do that by running from that “sick” side of ourselves. That disgusting, selfish, lustful part of us – that sinful nature – is there and will not go away. We must not run from it, but rather we must turn and face it head on (with Christ’s help) and defeat it. That is something that I have found to be true in times of silence/solitude. You can’t run from yourself. It is there. You must face it, deal with it and defeat it. We must make the decision to deny ourselves, not simply pretend that we do not feel/think those things that we do. Too often, I catch myself pretending or convincing myself that I am not that bad – yes, yes I am. But with God’s help, that part of me is decreasing and HE is increasing.

Honestly, I am very much looking forward to this weekend. I will be away from Colorado, away from everything and just have the chance to talk to God a little bit. I will do some reading and a lot of just relaxing with family. But I need some time with just God and I. There is far too much noise in my world right now. Far too many thoughts, ideas, dreams, discouragements, twinges of pain, etc. . . On a daily basis, if I were to allow them to, they would overtake me. (Sometimes they do.) But hopefully in the next few weeks, I can get with God and take some time to let Him in my life. He knows that I can’t do it myself. Thank God that He is willing to help out.

On a side note I want to point out that Pastor Brian’s blog is accepting comments now. I am very proud of him for this. This speaks to me that not only is he writing about connecting with humanity, including his own, but he is operating that way as well. That makes me very happy! If you are unfamiliar with him, take a minute or two and head over there. He is one of the most brilliant preachers in this nation and by a long shot the most intelligent pastor I have ever had the privilege of encountering. His writing and preaching is so remarkably sound and deep that it will, no doubt, leave you inspired and thinking for a couple of days! Read his blog. Listen to his messages.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

