Josh Brage


It is Alright to Not Be Alright
January 22, 2008, 4:12 pm
Filed under: Walk with God

Contemporary Christian music seems to be convinced that everything’s always alright.Well, I know Romans 8:28 as well as the next preacher, but a larger section of Scripture (Psalms, Escclesiastes etc) is downright honest … and flirts with the feeling..if not the reality…that at least until the Kingdom fully comes, everything is not yet altogether alright.

(read rest of post here)

Dave deals with a great concern of mine in this post. Great insight! This weekend I was having a conversation with a great friend and we were talking about some crap she was dealing with emotionally in her world. We then moved on to talking about how our Charismatic theology has done us a tremendous disservice.

Over the years, I have been taught a lot about ‘Faith.’ I love faith. I believe in faith. It is necessary and it is good, however, I am realizing that I have an extremely skewed view of faith. Faith teaching, as I have been taught, seems to imply something that, once fully embraced, leads us to a very dangerous perspective on our Christian walks. Faith teaching, as I have been taught, implies that when you come across something in your life that you want changed (lack of money, poor health, spiritual battles, etc. . . ) then you need to find a way to muster enough faith in order for God to do one of two things: 1. immediately change your circumstances or 2. immediately remove you from those circumstances.

Why is this dangerous? Two main reasons that I can think of: first, it puts most of the focus on our ability to believe God. Wow. Second, it can be extremely shaking to a person’s faith when things do not change immediately. It puts that person in a spiral of believing one or two theologically incorrect things about God and themselves – that they do not have enough faith and are therefore ‘not good enough,’ or that God is uncaring and cold.

Let’s talk about this in real terms. Take a person who has been walking with God for a long time. Now they are in their mid-twenties, married, have a kid, work for a church. They are all of a sudden dealing with a new world of emotion stresses – insecurities, doubts, worries, etc . . . However, our theology does not allow that person to honestly deal with those things by going to God and working through them. Our theology would tell her that she needs to have ‘more faith’ and her problems will begin to disappear. What if they don’t disappear? What if they don’t?

The answer? We still must trust God. Faith is being shown to me to be trusting God enough to put your world in His hands. Trusting Him with your ‘stuff.’ Saying, “God, I have sins, insecurities, worries and sometimes I even just plain old doubt You, but God help me through this. I am choosing to believe that You are here with me in the midst of my feeling like You are no where to be found. God I would like for these ‘things’ to disappear, but I will trust You with them. Take them from my life how You want to and more importantly, when You want to.”

Do we then go to a fatalistic philosophy with God? “Whatever happens happens.” No, we still throw ourselves at His feet and ask Him to change things, but we must have more faith in Him than expecting Him to act immediately. We must trust His character as much as we trust His power. (I have more, but for now that is good…)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

