Josh Brage


James Dobson is Taking His Ball and Going Home . . .
February 5, 2008, 7:47 pm
Filed under: Politics

GREAT post Andrew

I just heard on the radio James Dobson declare that he will not vote in this years presidential election as a matter of conscience.  Make me gag.  It makes me sick to my stomach. What about democracy? I must say, I am not sure what the categories of conservatives and Evangelicals even mean anymore.

James Dobson has now told millions of Evangelicals, if you don’t get your way, cry and pout, and take your ball and go home. What kind of an example of a leader is that? Not to mention that his ongoing support for Bush and the Republican Congress that certainly did not live by Republican principles proves he has little character depth and can’t even act like a man, not to mention a respectable Christian leader.

Dobson can now join Ann Coulter and others in the wasteland of so-called Republican conservatism of name-calling, demonizing, and baby tantrums. Let’s be clear, if Ronald Reagan was living today, he would not be among them.

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Very interesting…

Cheers.

Comment by Nathan

“Conservatives” always love to invoke Reagan to make their point. This post is pretty good up until the point that he tries to tell me what Ronald Reagan would do. Sorry, Andrew, you don’t have a freaking clue what Reagan would do, neither does anyone else.

It’s almost like a liberal playing the poverty card.

Comment by Mark Thomas

I think Huckabee lost it for Romney.

Cheers.

Comment by Nathan Gann

I completely agree with you. I think Huck lost it for Mitt. So that means we will all have to vote for McyC in Nov. Dang it. Dang it. Shoot.

Comment by thehosh

Our party as a whole is being dumbed down by idiot candidates like Huckabee.

We’re a lot dumber right now than we were 12 months ago.

Comment by Mark Thomas

I already spoke out on my take on McCain in a comment on this post. http://nathangann.com/?p=121

I don’t think 12 months ago things got dumb. As Peggy Noonan pointed out a week or two ago, things got off track for conservatives 7 years ago. She’s right.

I’m torn. I don’t fit in with the “conservative” mold on issues. More of a libertarian on govt, a conservative on theology, and a liberal on social issues because I don’t think govt. should take care of the poor…we should.

Cheers.

Comment by Nathan Gann

Good conversation.

Nathan, in the context of this discussion I believe the liberals are those who do believe it is the governments job to take care of the poor and conservatives prefer that to be the duty, and pleasure, of the church and the churched.

Comment by Mark

Yeah you’re right.

I guess as recently as 5 years ago, and still in some Evangelical circles today, this is the cause of a “bleeding heart liberal” or someone supprting the “social Gospel.” Seeing what Rick Warren is doing would have been unthinkable in most every Evangelical circle 5-10 years ago.

Trut me, and Josh will tell you, I have been called “liberal” because of stances on the environment, war, poverty, etc. simply because these seem important in the Bible. Some Christians are so locked into political language (maybe due to Savage, Hannity, Limbaugh, etc)…so people jump off the handle and go crazy! LOL.

Cheers.

Comment by Nathan

Maybe we didn’t get dumbed down just 12 months ago but I think it was more recent than 7 years ago.

I would probably say it was when we had the house and senate and didn’t do anything with it.

Comment by Mark Thomas




Leave a Reply

