Josh Brage


Nathan Thinks that Obama Will Win
February 13, 2008, 7:07 pm
Filed under: Politics

Nathan Gann posted a GREAT post last night. If you don’t read his blog, you need to.

I wanted to post my reaction here.

I agree with you that Obama’s seems to be a momentum driven campaign with hope as a main theme – I do not necessarily agree that he will win. momentum, especially political, is a finicky thing.

The other thing that I want to note is that youth momentum especially is a finicky thing. We are an awfully long way away from November and while Obama is doing a great job wooing campuses right now, the big question is will they show up in Nov? (Will they forget him over Summer Break?)

However, I am completely interested in what young evangelicals are thinking politically. It is odd, the people that I talk to are all over the map, honestly. All over! I have talked to people who “won’t vote for Mitt, because he is a Mormon” and I have talked to people who don’t mind voting for pro-Choice candidates (Obama) because ‘you can’t legislate morality.’ Which I agree with.

My concern is that we aren’t thinking it through. It seems that Obama is the emotionally appealing candidate, he is cool. He has Facebook presence. My main goal from here on out will be to get people thinking, not just reacting to Obama. Think about what he is saying, think about what he is going to do, think about it. We will see what happens.

Do I think that Obama would be a good President? Absolutely not.  

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

